Democracies and Democratisation, 2011

MatchPoints Seminar

An interdisciplinary conference on democracy and democratisation.


12 – 14 May 2011
Aarhus University, Denmark
Place: Søauditorierne, Bartholins Allé 3, 8000 Aarhus

All over the Arabic world here have been demands for 'democracy' over the past months. What forms of government will follow the fall of autocrats is still unknown and uncertain. For the groups behind the demonstrations and rebellions may have different notions of what 'rule by the people' means.

This year's MatchPoints Seminar will deal with democracy, democratization and democratic renewal in Denmark, the EU, Nort America and developing states. We have created a seminar with a rich variety of themes, and invited numerous prominent Danish and international speakers.

The purpose of a MatchPoints seminar is to create dialogue between Aarhus University and the surrounding society concerning subjects of wider societal interest. Therefore the seminars will be open to the public.

Moreover, it is characteristic of a MatchPoints seminar that the speakers at these seminars rank among the most highly esteemed national and international figures in the field and subject that the seminar is focused on.

Francis Fukuyama

Francis Fukuyama

Fareed Zakaria

Fareed Zakaria

Photo coverage

Themes and workshops:

Confirmed speakers

Francis Fukuyama (Stanford University/Aarhus University), Fareed Zakaria (Time/CNN), Anthony McGrew (University of Strathclyde), Georg Sørensen (Aarhus University), James Fishkin (Stanford University), Mark Warren (University of British Columbia), Dario Castiglione (Exeter University), John Erik Fossum (ARENA, University of Oslo), Johannes Pollak (Webster University Vienna/Institute for Advanced Studies), David Laycock (Simon Fraser University), Ben Crum (Free University Amsterdam), Christopher Lord (ARENA, University of Oslo), Erik O. Eriksen (ARENA, University of Oslo), Hans Joerg Trenz (ARENA, University of Oslo), Jack Snyder (Columbia University), Robert Rotberg (Harvard University), Jane Mansbridge (Harvard University), Ken Carty (University of British Columbia) and Søren Pind (Minister for Development Cooperation).